Yesterday I must have been in a really creative mood. In addition to my berry syrup for breakfast, I also decided to try something new for dinner. I was at Melanie Pringle’s for dinner the night before and saw the pizza rolls on the menu. I used to LOVE these as a kid, but since becoming a vegetarian at the ripe old age of 12, I haven’t had them since. I decided that I could make these to satisfy my craving. I could make a delicious vegetarian version.

I don’t think I was entirely right.

I looked up some recipes online for an idea of how to start and went from there. I decided on the following ingredients:

  • Eggroll wrappers
  • Pizza sauce
  • Vegetarian pepperoni
  • Shredded mozzarella

Ingredients

I knew I had the cheese at home, and I knew that I didn’t have the wrappers or pepperoni. I ALWAYS have a can of pizza sauce in the cupboard at home, so when I was shopping I didn’t bother to get any. Evidently, I should have gotten some, because when I got home, I had none. Never fear! Pasta sauce is basically the same thing. So I just used part of a jar of Ragu.

Easily enough, I just started assembling the rolls. I placed an eggroll wrapper on my little cutting board, put some sauce on, put 3 pepperoni slices, and then some cheese, leaving a little room on the left side, right side, and side closest to me, with a lot of room on the top (see the picture). I then brushed water along all four edges to create a glue to seal the rolls. I folded the two outside edges in and rolled it up like a burrito.

Assembly

Some recipes called for deep frying these, and some called for baking. I decided to go the healthier route and bake them. I sprayed my baking sheet with Pam, put the rolls on the sheet, and then sprayed them with Pam. Pam was my friend. Or so I thought.

Ready for the oven

I put them in a 350⁰ F oven and cooked them for about 15-20 minutes.

"Cooked"

Terrible, terrible idea. If I were to make these again, I would definitely deep fry them! I was looking forward to that golden brown, crispy outside and the warm, gooey inside. The filling leaked out the side, and they really got no colour. These tasted ok, but they were not the crisp wonders I remembered.

On the plate

I ended up using two sheet pans for these. I had one in the oven for about 10 minutes when I put the second one in. When I was eating one from the first batch, I noticed that to bottom was browned, but the top wasn’t. I decided that I would try to salvage the second batch by flipping them over partway through the cooking time. This definitely did improve them, but not enough for me to want to try them again.

Impovement

My husband did really like them, but he would eat tinfoil if it had melted cheese on it! My lesson of the day is that Pam and an oven are no replacement for the deep fryer if you’re looking for delicious crispiness.

Happy Cooking!

