I know I was supposed to post this yesterday, but after my Cinco de Mayo margarita, it wasn’t happening!

I’ve never really made Mexican food before (other than the Old El Paso kind), but I do quite like to eat it! So I thought in order of Cinco de Mayo, I would make a delicious Mexican feast! Because I’m not familiar with their cooking, I decided I couldn’t wing this. I looked up recipes. And I wasn’t disappointed!

I LOVE the cheese enchiladas at Lonestar, so I thought that would be my best bet to try. I also wanted to make my own salsa. I know my husband detests tomatoes, and I didn’t want to make the salsa just for myself, so I made a mango salsa.

I used the recipe from this website for the enchiladas:

http://www.cooking-mexican-recipes.com/cheese_enchilada_recipe.html

Final Product

I wasn’t sure if I would be able to find enchilada sauce at the store, so I decided to make it. I used the recipe they recommend:

http://www.cooking-mexican-recipes.com/enchilada-sauce-recipe.html

I just subbed the chicken broth they use for vegetable broth. Yummy and vegetarian!

Enchilada Sauce

The recipe for the enchiladas recommends deep frying the tortillas before dunking them in the enchilada sauce. I tried it, and it turned out disastrously. I don’t have a deep fryer. I am under the delusion that if I don’t have a deep fryer, I won’t deep fry things. Well, I just fill a big pot with oil and heat it on high. I’m just fooling myself, I know. But anyway, I must have had the oil too hot, as the tortillas started bubbling immediately. I panicked, took the tortilla out, dunked it in the enchilada sauce and put it on a plate. Then it disintegrated.

I optimistically tried it with a second one. It turned out a little better, but not much. So I decided that I was going to skip the
deep fryer, and go straight to the sauce. Excellent recovery!

Enchiladas Before the Oven

Funny how last recipe, I tried to not deep fry things, and it turned out bad, and this time USING the deep fryer was the problem!

I was able to use the second deep fried tortilla in the casserole, and it really didn’t taste any different than the ones that weren’t fried. So that is a step that I will skip in the future to save my sanity and waistline!

These enchiladas were fantastic! I had the leftovers for lunch today, and they were spectacular! I could eat these every day of my life!

Cooked Enchiladas

As for the mango salsa, I used the following recipe:

http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/mango-salsa/Detail.aspx

I just skipped the red peppers. My husband doesn’t like those either. Maybe it’s just a red thing. Who knows?

Mango Salsa

This was pretty good, but not as good as the enchiladas. I didn’t measure anything, so maybe my proportions were off, and I didn’t let it sit for the full 30 minutes it suggests, so that might have been a problem.

All in all, I will definitely make the enchiladas again. I’m torn about the salsa though.

The Meal

Happy cooking!

