About two years ago, my husband suddenly lost a lot of weight. Roughly 50-70 pounds in about 3ish months. Everybody’s dream, right? Wrong. He was diagnosed with Type 2 Diabetes. (Damn you Swedish Berries!)  Fortunately, it was caught really early, and it’s not too bad. He can control it with diet and exercise and he only needs to test his blood once a day, most days. If it’s really high or really low, he’ll check it more than that, but it’s not too bad. When he was diagnosed, I didn’t know what we were going to do about food. Between my vegetarianism, his diabetes, and his pickiness towards vegetables, I thought we were going to starve! So I bought a few diabetic cookbooks. Some recipes are pretty good, some not so much.

Company's Coming diabetic dinners

One book that I have is Company’s Coming diabetic dinners. I made this Carrot Cheese Muffin recipe probably over a year ago, and I recalled it being pretty good. As you may know, I have an interesting relationship with breakfast. I didn’t feel like waffles or pancakes, so this morning, I decided I would make these muffins for breakfast.

Recipe

Yum!

Shredded Carrots

The recipe calls for a cup of shredded carrots. I usually only buy baby carrots, and that’s what I had in the house today. If I recall
correctly, last time I made it, I had baby carrots and tried to shred them with my food processor, with less than ideal results. So I decided I would grate the carrots by hand today. I’ve now decided that I am never making these muffins again, unless I have big carrots! It took me FOREVER to shred a cup of carrots, and I got numerous hand cramps. So no more shredded baby carrots.

And I didn’t have any ginger, so I didn’t add any ginger.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

But overall, these were very good muffins, and I would make them again. Assuming that I have big carrots!

All Done

And it only took about 30 minutes to make, after shredding those damn carrots!

On The Plate

Happy Cooking!

