It’s such a beautiful day out, and we are still in the midst of our renovation, so I decided that dinner tonight should be quick, easy, and require very little cooking. So we’re having hot dogs (veggie dogs), potato salad, and coleslaw.

I’ve been making my own coleslaw and potato salad for a few years now, but it changes every time. Well, for the coleslaw, I buy the pre-cut salad mix of veggies from the grocery store, and I make the dressing. I don’t think I could buy the vegetable and cut them up myself for what I pay for the bag!

PC Coleslaw

I have a love of all President’s Choice products. I look forward to their Insider’s Report coming out every few months, and I got it in the paper this week! So obviously, I HAD to go into the store and buy some of the new stuff.  I got their new coleslaw mix ($1.49, sweet!), their new peanut butter chocolate ice cream, and their Gigantico Hot Dog Buns.

The coleslaw had a recipe on the back of it, so I thought I would give it a try!

Recipe from bag

Easy to make, and I had all of the ingredients on hand. Actually, that’s a lie. I didn’t have Safflower oil, so I just used my standard extra virgin olive oil. I’m thinking about putting some sunflower seeds in for a little crunch before dinner.

It was quick and easy, and hopefully tasty. I’ll find out after dinner, as it is currently chilling the fridge.

Coleslaw

I’ve always loved my mom’s potato salad because she puts pickles in it! But it’s a little plain. Just potatoes, pickles, mayo, and white onions. I would LOVE to put pickles in mine, but my husband thinks that they are the root of all evil, so I don’t usually put them in sharing food. They will absolutely be on my veggie dog tonight! But sadly, not in the potato salad.

To make up for that lack of pickles, I jazz up the dressing. I always put mustard in. Usually Dijon. And I like to put in some celery seeds, and sometimes something to spice it up. Today I used the following recipe:

  • About 3 heaping tablespoons light Miracle Whip
  • About 2 heaping teaspoons hot Dijon mustard
  • About ½ teaspoon celery seeds
  • About ¼ teaspoon cayenne pepper

I just mix it together and add the boiled potatoes.

Potato Salad

I’m quite looking forward to dinner tonight!

Happy Cooking!

