Today I made stuffed potatoes for dinner. I’ve made versions of these before and they’ve always been better than tonight’s.

 

I know that the best way to bake potatoes is to actually bake them. Either on the BBQ or in the oven. But some nights, I just don’t have the time or patience to bake a potato for an hour, and then do other stuff to it afterwards. So for my stuffed potatoes, I microwave them, and then finish them off in the oven.

 

I washed my two potatoes and put them in the microwave for 10 minutes – 5 per side. That was my downfall! These were medium potatoes. 10 minutes is fine for large potatoes, but 10 minutes made these poor little guys almost unusable.

 

Either way, when they came out of the microwave, I knew they weren’t going to be gourmet, but I didn’t feel like remaking them. So I made do with what I had. I sliced them in half when they were cool enough to handle and scooped the flesh out and put it in a bowl. I added some onion cream cheese dip, shredded cheddar and some milk to the potatoes and mashed them. I then spooned the filling back in the skins, topped with more cheddar and baked at 375 degrees for 10 minutes.

 

Potato and Green Beans

They looked ok, but I wasn’t a huge fan.

 

Happy Cooking!

