Ready to Eat

This Saturday morning is a rainy gloomy one. And what better way to pick up the day than to start it with a delicious breakfast? I have a certain disdain for breakfast lately, so I asked my husband what he wanted me to make for breakfast this morning. His response: “Chocolate chip waffles and strawberry sauce!” And evidently his wish is my command… At least for breakfast today!

 

I wanted to try a new waffle recipe, and I actually had some fresh(ish) strawberries in the fridge that I needed to use up.

 

I googled “chocolate chip waffle recipe” and came up with a few good recipes. I don’t have any buttermilk, so I went with the first one that doesn’t require any: Chocolate Chip Waffles.

 

Waffle Ingredients

I only made very few minor substitutions. I didn’t have and cooking spray (Pam), so I used olive oil and a brush; I didn’t have enough butter, so I added some margarine; and I didn’t have any mini chocolate chips, so I just used regular ones. These waffles turned out great though!

 

Egg Whites

I think the key is probably in whipping the egg whites into submission! The above picture is what the 3 egg whites looked like all whipped up with the ¼ cup of sugar. This incorporates air and makes them light and fluffy!

 

Waffle Batter

For the Strawberry Sauce, I used three very simple ingredients:

  • Fresh Strawberries
  • Orange Punch
  • Sugar

Sauce Ingredients

I just sliced the strawberries and put them in a pot over medium heat. Then I added a splash of orange punch – probably no more than ¼ – ½ cup, and 2 tablespoons of sugar and stirred.

 

Cooking Sauce

I brought it up to a boil and let it cook and reduce for about 10 minutes, and then reduced the heat to low when it was the consistency I wanted, stirring occasionally.

 

Finished Sauce

Homemade berry sauces are so easy to make, I don’t know why someone would buy one! Even if you don’t have fresh berries, frozen berries can be used too.

Waffles without sauce

 

This must have been a great breakfast, because after his first bite, my husband exclaimed “Oh yea!” And when I finished, I said that I would actually pay for this breakfast. Big words from me!

 

Happy Cooking!

