Every Monday and Tuesday for the next few weeks I have school. So usually for dinner, I end up eating something really simple for dinner. Usually something like Perogies, veggie dogs, or grilled cheese. Today I had a test in class. If you know me and tests, you know that I was finished within about 20 minutes. So I got home exceptionally early! So for a change, I thought I would make something good for dinner. I had bought the ingredients for eggplant parmesan to make one day this week, but I wasn’t set on a day, so I decided that today was the day!

 

I’ve made eggplant parmesan from recipes 2 or 3 times before, but I thought I would wing it today. All I have to say about that is: I love eggplant parm!

 

This recipe takes a few more ingredients than my typical “winging it” recipes do.

 

Ingredients

  • Eggplant
  • Flour
  • Eggs
  • Breadcrumbs
  • Oregano
  • Parsley
  • Basil
  • Garlic Plus seasoning
  • Parmesan
  • Tomato sauce
  • Salt
  • Provolone
  • Olive oil

All those ingredients and the process may seem daunting, but it’s really not that difficult. I made some homemade tomato sauce a few months ago and had it in the freezer, so I decided to use that, but canned sauce is good too. I just took it out of the freezer and warmed it up on the stove.

 

Next, I washed the eggplant and cut it into disks. It can also be cut lengthwise, but I prefer the smaller slices, that way it’s easy to enforce portion control. You might want one and a half long pieces, but not want to cut a piece in half. Easy solution – three round pieces!

 

Chopped Eggplant

Then I made my breading station. This requires three dishes – one with just flour and a little salt, one with beaten egg, and the third with the breadcrumb mixture. I mixed breadcrumbs, dried oregano, dried parsley, dried basil, Garlic Plus seasoning (Clubhouse) and parmesan together. Fresh herbs are probably better, but whenever I buy them, I use about half, and the other half goes bad in the fridge. So dried herbs are best for me. If you like different herbs, you can use them. And use them in whatever  proportions you want.

 

Breading Station

So here comes the messy part. You need to use one hand for the cleanish portion, and one for the messy portion. With the clean hand, lift up a slice of eggplant and place it in the flour. Turn it over and make sure that it is completely covered. With the clean hand, pick it back up and place it in the egg. With the other hand, turn it and make sure it is covered in egg. With the same hand, take it out of the egg, and repeat with the breadcrumbs. Then with the messy hand again, place the eggplant on a plate and then repeat with the rest of the slices of eggplant.

 

I chose to use one frying pan, so I worked in three batches. While I was dredging the eggplant, I let my frying pan heat up to medium with the olive oil coating the bottom. You need a lot of oil for this dish. Once I had my first batch of eggplant dredged, I put the slices into the frying pan and let them cook while I worked on dredging the next batch. Once I flipped the frying eggplant and let the second side cook, I placed them on a rack over a cookie sheet.

 

After I fried up all my eggplant, I sprayed my cookie sheets with Pam and put the fried slices on there. I topped each with a bit of warm tomato sauce and some provolone. I then put them in the oven and let them bake at 400 degrees for about 10-15 minutes.

 

Baking

Yummy!

 

Dinner time!

Happy Cooking!

