I was looking through Rachael Ray’s Big Orange Book and I came across a recipe I wanted to try. It is a Corn and Salsa Tortilla Soup. It looked pretty easy and tasty, and I wanted to give it a shot, even though this is one of the hottest weeks on record in my area!

 

Recipe

I quite enjoyed it!

 

Ingredients

It has several of my favourite things – peppers, tortillas, corn, tomatoes, and avocado! I LOVE avocado!

 

Roasted Poblanos

I know the recipe suggests using corn on the cob if it is in season, and it certainly is in season right now. But I chose to use frozen instead. I can be terribly accident prone, and I just had a feeling that if I tried to cut the kernels from the cob, I would lose a finger too! So I figured that frozen was the safe way to go. And I still have all my fingers, so I guess I was right!

 

Cooked Soup

I used the crushed tomatoes, and I couldn’t find fire-roasted ones, so I just used normal ones. And I didn’t feel like buying a whole bunch of cilantro for 2 tablespoons worth of it. So I just skipped that bit of garnish.

 

Tortilla Chips

I think the recipe was very good the way I made it, and I definitely would make it again! As Rachael would say – Yummo!

 

Final Product

Happy Cooking!

